Holleran Center for Community Engagement

SRYI Volunteer Resources

This web page will provide volunteers of the South Reading Youth Initiative with resources that will be helpful when working with SRYI participants. This page also contains archived editions of the SRYI Scoop, a monthly publication for volunteers filled with resources and fun stories from programming.

Archives of the SRYI Scoop

SRYI Scoop - Volume 1, Issue 1 - February 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 1, Issue 2 - March 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 1, Issue 3 - April 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 1, Issue 4 - May 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 2, Issue 1 - September 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 2, Issue 2 - October 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 2, Issue 3 - November 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 2, Issue 4 - December 2010

SRYI Scoop - Volume 2, Issue 5 - February 2011

SRYI Scoop - Volume 2, Issue 6 - March 2011

SRYI Scoop - Volume 2, Issue 7 - April 2011

SRYI Scoop - Volume 3, Issue 1 - October 2011

SRYI Scoop - Volume 3, Issue 2 - November 2011

Tutoring Resources

General Tutoring Links

US Dept. of Education:   http://www.sedl.org/afterschool/lessonplans/

The After School Exchange:  http://www.thirteen.org/edonline/afterschool/activities/index.html

Discovery: Education, The Lesson Plan Library:  http://school.discoveryeducation.com/lessonplans/

The Solution Site:  http://www.thesolutionsite.com/

Teaching Tips Index:  http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/intranet/committees/FacDevCom/guidebk/teachtip/teachtip.htm

The School Bell:  http://www.theschoolbell.com/ - This website has an elementary focus but contains a lot different ideas that are usefully for general and ESL tutors.

Strategy Suggestions - Network Superstars:  http://go.networksuperstars.net/

Heifer Education:  http://www.heifereducation.org/site/c.lwL0KlN1LvH/b.3993181/k.BDA8/Home.htm

LEARNS Newsletter:  Youth Impact (a.k.a. The Tutor):  http://www.nationalserviceresources.org/learns/tutor

Tutor.com:  http://www.tutor.com/resources/

Literacy Links

Literacy Connections: http://www.literacyconnections.com/

Literacy Connections provides a wealth of information on reading, teaching and tutoring techniques, ESL literacy, and adult literacy

Advice for Reading Tutors: http://www.literacyconnections.com/AdviceForReadingTutors.php

A-Z:  Reading Resource Center:  http://www.readinga-z.com/

Star Fall:  http://www.starfall.com/

Reading is Fundamental:  http://www.rif.org

Math Links

Best Math Tips:  Math Tutoring Tips:  http://www.bestmathtips.com/

Afterschool Training Toolkit:  Math Tutoring:  http://www.sedl.org/afterschool/toolkits/math/pr_math_tutoring.html

Children's Literature

Book Trust Children's Books:  http://www.booktrustchildrensbooks.org.uk/Home

Special Education Links

Tips for Working with Children and Youth with Special Needs:  http://www.nafim.org/files/uploads/14WorkingwithSpecialNeedsChildrenYouth.pdf

The Ultimate Guide to Special Needs Teaching:  http://www.teachingtips.com/blog/2008/06/25/the-ultimate-guide-to-special-needs-teaching-100-resources-and-links/

5 Tips for helping your ADHD child focus during homework:  http://www.examiner.com/

English as a Second Language (ESL) Links

Teach ESL to Kids:  http://www.teach-esl-to-kids.com/

100 Best Resources and Guides for ESL Teachers:  http://www.teachingtips.com/blog/2008/06/24/100-best-resources-and-guides-for-esl-teachers/

http://www.eslgold.com/

Dave's ESL Cafe: http://www.eslcafe.com/

           Has an "Idea Cookbook" for teachers/tutors as well as resources for English learners such as grammar lessons, idioms, quizzes, and much more.

ESL Teachers Board:  http://www.eslteachersboard.com/

Rendall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab:  http://www.esl-lab.com/

Language Guide:  http://www.languageguide.org/

1-Language:  http://www.1-language.com/

Longman's English Dictionary Online:  http://www.ldoceonline.com/ - Good online dictionary for English Learners

ESL Partyland: http://www.eslpartyland.com/

Activity Idea Links

Fun Attic Website: http://www.funattic.com/game_list.htm

Creative Kids at Home:  http://www.creativekidsathome.com/games/index.html

BrainPop:  http://www.brainpop.com/ - Has online educational games for kids to play.

Enchanted Learning:  http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Home.html

Activity Village:  http://www.activityvillage.co.uk/

Family Education-Rainy Day Activities:  http://fun.familyeducation.com/hobbies-and-interests/games/33402.html

If you find any other helpful tutoring sites, please call 610-568-1527 so that the resource can be shared with others. Thank you!




holleran center for community engagement

1.888.alvernia
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube RSS Feed Pinterest Instagram tumblr Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ RSS Feed