Alvernia shines at Sigma Tau Delta Convention—Updated 4-10

STD LogoMore than 950 people from 165 colleges and universities (as far as Alaska and Kuwait) attended the 2010 Sigma Tau Delta Storytellers Conference this March, making it the largest convention in the organization’s history.

Twelve undergraduate students, two graduate students, and four faculty members from Alvernia University participated in the convention (held in St. Louis. Mo.) Alvernia’s Kappa Pi served as a host chapter and Professor Carrie Fitzpatrick was Chair of the convention.

Among other duties as Convention Chair, Carrie Fitzpatrick organized more than 215 sessions, gave several speeches, and introduced a number of green initiatives that will be adopted for future conventions. She was also honored for 10 years of service as a chapter sponsor and re-elected to the Board of Directors.

Alvernia faculty member and communication chair, Beth DeMeo, received a standing ovation for the group’s most prestigious award: the Delta Award, given for exceptional service on a national level. She was the only the eighth recipient in the 85 year history of the society.

An impressive thirteen members of the Alvernia community assisted in a double-blind judging of more than 900 critical essays, creative non-fiction, poetry, fiction, and panel proposals. 

The Alvernia cohort won the Better World Books Service Award, and collaborated in researching and presenting two separate panels. Professor Jodi Radosh and six students (Carly Glasmyre, Aida Garmen, Heather Kissinger, Jessica Slavin, Rebecca Wasser, and Rebecca Wisniewski) explored the current popularity of gothic and modern vampire literature and films with their “Sucked In: Hot Confessions of not so Cold-Blooded Vampire Addicts” panel, and Professor Beth DeMeo worked with five students (Sean Cullen, Sean Gibbons, Sarah Heckman, Laura Heffner, and Kristopher Rogers) to posthumously “try” the character of Captain Vere from Melville’s Billy Budd in their panel “Billy Budd’s Captain Vere: Convening the Court.”

Alvernia’s Kappa Pi Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta plans to install 15 new members during its 30th annual induction ceremony — May 7, 2010. New members will be:

Bret Berghardt
Katelyn Eby
Laura Eshbach
Sean Gibbons
Carly Glasmyre
Heather Kissinger
Maria B.C. Lusica
Valerie Mangan
Angela Miller
Emily Rabadi
Danielle Regimbal
Kristopher Scott Rodgers
Michael Wagner
Thomas R. Wiltsey III
Rebecca Wisniewski

Find out more about the annual convention and the International English Honor Society on the Sigma Tau Delta website:
Twitter Logo


social icons

Information for: Parents & Family Alumni Faculty & Staff Current Students
Contact Us Directory Employment A-Z Index Tech Support Privacy Policy
© 2016 Alvernia University
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube RSS Feed Pinterest Instagram tumblr Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ RSS Feed