Neag Professorships Announced at Alvernia University


Drs. Rosemarie Chinni and Ondra Kielbasa have been awarded Neag Professorships for 2016-18. They are among the most active faculty members pursuing collaborative scholarly research that repeatedly engages students.

Neag Professorships, established in 2010 though the generous support of Carole and Ray Neag, are awarded to faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in scholarly work and distinction in teaching — whether in undergraduate liberal arts education or in graduate and professional education. The professorships are part of a comprehensive effort to expand support for our faculty’s teaching excellence as well as scholarly and creative achievement.

Named Senior Neag Professor for 2016-18, Dr. Rosemarie Chinni is Associate Professor of Chemistry and Forensic Science, Director of the Forensic Science Program and Chair of the Science and Mathematics Department at Alvernia University. 

Dr. Chinni focuses on using laser-induced breakdown spectroscopy (LIBS) and Atomic Absorption Spectroscopy for a number of unique research studies — very often sharing research opportunities with undergraduate students. Most recently, she co-authored “Penny Analysis Using Laser-Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy (LIBS)” with students Devon Kline and Alexander Roche, and “Detection of Lead in Soil Samples Collected Throughout Berks County, Pennsylvania, Using Flame Atomic Absorption Spectroscopy” with students Kelsey Schubert and Ryan Cupo.

Dr. Ondra Kielbasa, assistant professor of Biology at Alvernia was named Junior Neag Professor for 2016-18. Her most recent presentation “Introducing Active Learning into the Traditional Lecture Format: A “Clickers” Case Study” was given at the STEM-UP PA Innovations in Teaching Symposium.

“Both Rose and Ondra had very impressive applications, with ambitious scholarly plans that build on considerable past work,” said Alvernia President Thomas F. Flynn, Ph.D. “Both also have fine reputations with students for their teaching and mentoring.”

Drs. Chinni and Kielbasa follow current Neag Professors Bongrae Seok and Janae Sholtz and inaugural Neag Professors Spence Stober and Donna Yarri.

Past Neag Scholars:
Dr. Bongrae Seok, philosophy
Dr. Janae Sholtz, philosophy
Dr. Spencer S. Stober, biology
Dr. Donna Yarri, theology

Twitter Logo


social icons

Information for: Parents & Family Alumni Faculty & Staff Current Students
Contact Us Directory Employment A-Z Index Tech Support Privacy Policy
© 2016 Alvernia University
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube RSS Feed Pinterest Instagram tumblr Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ RSS Feed